Different Kinds of Water Damages

water damaged ceiling

One of the most important things that a water damages remediation team will do once they get to your home, is to determine the category of water damage, and the class of water damage. These categories and classes of damages are usually placed in the order of severity, and can help your team keep you and themselves safe during the restoration process.

Category one water damages:

Category one damages are considered to be safe. They pose no danger to you or the people around you, and will not harm your body or trigger allergies. This kind of water most likely contains no harmful bacteria or pathogens, and as a result is harmless. This kind of damage can most likely come from a leaking washing machine or an overflowing sink.

Category two water damages:

If the water damage in question is coming from an overflowing toilet, it may be that you are suffering a category two water damage. This water will be unclean and grey, and usually contains harmful agents such as bacteria. If this water is consumed, the person may become sick or it may trigger certain allergic reactions. The most important thing when it comes to category two water damages is to ensure that all the water is removed at once, so it causes as little damage as possible.

Category three water damages:

This is the kind of water damage that is considered the most unsanitary. The water will be murky and dark, and will be extremely unsafe for anyone exposed to it. The water in this case contains many harmful bacteria, viruses, and other pathogenic agents, making it one of the most dangerous kinds of water. In some cases, a category two water damage can become a category three damage, if it is not dealt with immediately. Remember not to try and work on a solution for this on your own, and call up a professional water damages team.

The different classes of water damages:

As with categories, water damages are also differentiated into classes, based mostly on how quickly the water evaporates and which materials in the home are going to affect that.

Class 1 water damage means that the water evaporation is very slow. This implies that the room area is small, and materials are not heavily saturated with water. Class two water damages mean that the water is evaporating fast. This usually implies that most of the room is being affected and that the materials are heavily saturated with water. Class three damages imply that the evaporation is rapid and the whole room is soaked with water. Class 4 damages imply that the water has spread even to difficult areas, requiring specific equipment.

Once you’ve identified the kind of water damage it is important to call in a restoration company at once. They will have a full knowledge of the classes and categories, and will guide you on how best to restore your home based on all of that knowledge.

Comments for this post are closed.